Simply enter your keyword and we will help you find what you need.

What are you looking for?

  /  Gérard Rancinan

Gérard Rancinan

Gérard Rancinan began his photographic career in 1969 at the Sud Ouest newspaper in Bordeaux. At eighteen he became the youngest photojournalist in France, covering local news.

Noticed by the young Sygma news agency, he chose in 1973 to be distributed by it. He then joined the team of Sygma photographers in Paris. It covers news from around the world: earthquakes in Algeria, events in Poland, war in Lebanon, riots in England; but also sports: Olympics, Football World Cups, World Championships in Athletics; film shoots: Akira Kurosawa’s Ran, 37 ° 2 in the morning of Jean-Jacques Beineix, Bernardo Bertolucci’s The Last Emperor.
He also creates portraits of the “stars” of fashion, film, sports, diverse personalities and contemporary world-renowned artists. He thus begins an uninterrupted series of portrait-performances of artists: plastic artists, painters, sculptors, video artists, performers, with whom he often collaborates and links friendships. He collaborates with Bob Rauchenberg, Roy Lichtenstein, Hermann Nitsch, Paul McCarthy, Yan Pei Ming, Andres Serrano …
He left Sygma in 1986 to set up his own news agency and then became independent again in 1989.

His portraits of personalities (Fidel Castro, Pope John Paul II, François Mitterrand, Monica Bellucci, Roy Lichtenstein, Tiger Woods, Yasser Arafat, Bill Gates … etc) and his great photographic “sagas” that tell the movements and jolts of our societies are regularly featured on the cover in magazines such as Paris Match, Life Magazine, Stern, Sunday Times Magazine, etc. Since 1984, Rancinan has been collaborating regularly with the leading American sports magazine, Sports Illustrated. He collaborates on all his “big projects” (series of gigantic photographs) with writers, journalists, thinkers, sociologists, anthropologists, philosophers … (Caroline Gaudriault, Virginie Luc, Paul Virilio, Francis Fukuyama) …

During the 1990s his work is propelled into the world of art by Pierre Cornette Saint-Cyr, who produced the exhibition Urban Jungle at Espace Cardin in Paris in 2000.
The work of Gérard Rancinan is exhibited in many leading art venues and international reference museums. His photographs are part of the most important private collections of contemporary art.
He is the most popular French photographer in the world.

Website

rancinan.com/

All Sessions By Gérard Rancinan

The responsability of the photographic act
25/04/2019 - 28/04/2019
San Servolo, Venice

Lancez une recherche et nous vous aiderons.

Que recherchez vous ?

  /  Gérard Rancinan

Gérard Rancinan

Gérard Rancinan commence sa carrière de photographe en 1969 au journal Sud Ouest à Bordeaux. À dix-huit ans il devient le plus jeune photojournaliste de France, couvrant l’actualité locale.

Remarqué par la toute jeune agence de presse Sygma, il choisit en 1973 d’être distribué par celle-ci. Il rejoint ensuite l’équipe des photographes de Sygma à Paris. Il y couvre l’actualité du monde entier : séismes en Algérie, événements en Pologne, guerre au Liban, émeutes en Angleterre; mais aussi les sports : Jeux olympiques, Coupes du Monde de football, Championnats du monde d’athlétisme; des tournages de films : Ran d’Akira Kurosawa, 37°2 le matin de Jean-Jacques Beineix, Le Dernier Empereur de Bernardo Bertolucci.
Il réalise aussi des portraits des « stars » de la mode, du cinéma, du sport, de personnalités diverses et d’artistes d’art contemporain de renommés mondiale. Il commence ainsi une série ininterrompue à ce jour de portraits-performances d’artistes : Plasticiens, peintres, sculpteurs, vidéastes, performeurs, avec lesquels souvent il collabore et lie des liens d’amitié. Il collabore ainsi avec Bob Rauchenberg, Roy Lichtenstein, Hermann Nitsch, Paul McCarthy, Yan Pei Ming, Andres Serrano…
Il quitte Sygma en 1986 pour créer sa propre agence de presse, puis redevient indépendant en 1989.

Ses portraits de personnalités (Fidel Castro, Pape Jean Paul II, François Mitterrand, Monica Bellucci, Roy Lichtenstein, Tiger Woods, Yasser Arafat, Bill Gates..etc) et ses grandes « sagas » photographiques qui racontent les mouvements et soubresauts de nos sociétés sont régulièrement publiées en couverture dans des magazines tel que Paris Match, Life Magazine, Stern, Sunday Times Magazine, etc. Depuis 1984, Rancinan collabore régulièrement avec le plus important magazine de sport américain, Sports Illustrated. Il collabore sur tous ses « grands projets » ( series de photographies gigantesques ) avec des écrivains, journalistes, penseurs, sociologues, anthropologues, philosophes… (Caroline Gaudriault, Virginie Luc, Paul Virilio, Francis Fukuyama)…

Lors des années 1990 son travail est propulsé dans le monde de l’art par Pierre Cornette de Saint-Cyr, qui produit l’exposition Urban Jungle à l’Espace Cardin à Paris en 2000.
L’œuvre de Gérard Rancinan est exposée dans de nombreux lieux artistiques de premier plan et musées internationaux de référence. Ses photographies font partie des collections privées d’art contemporain les plus importantes.
Il est le photographe français le plus côté à l’international.

Site Internet

rancinan.com/

Toutes les masterclasses de Gérard Rancinan

La responsabilité de l'acte photographique
25/04/2019 - 28/04/2019